Algeria, officially the People's Democratic Republic of Algeria, is a country located in North Africa. In terms of land area, it is the largest country on the Mediterranean Sea, the second largest on the African continent after Sudan, and the eleventh-largest country in the world. Algeria is bordered by Tunisia, Libya, Niger, Mali, Mauritania, a few kilometers of the Moroccan-controlled Western Sahara, Morocco, and the Mediterranean Sea.

Algeria had been inhabited since prehistoric times by indigenous peoples of northern Africa, who coalesced eventually into a distinct native population, the Berbers. After 200 BC, this area was taken over by Roman Empire, Byzantine Empire, the Arabs, Spanish and Ottoman Empire. French invaded and captured Algiers in 1830. As there were intense resistances from local tribes, the conquest was not technically complete until the early 1900s. Algeria became an integral part of France on Sep.1,1958 and became an independent country on Jul.3, 1962.