Germany, officially the Federal Republic of Germany, is a country in Western-Central Europe.

Germany is a parliamentary federal republic of sixteen states. As a nation-state, the country was unified amidst the Franco-Prussian War in 1871. Germany joined in the WWI and started the WWII and was defeated in both wars.  After its defeat in World War II, Germany was divided to FRG (West Germany) and DRG (East Germany), and it became reunified in 1990. It is a founding member of the European Union, and with over 82 million people it has the largest population among the EU member states.