Suriname, officially the Republic of Suriname, (often incorrectly written as Surinam, but rectified in most up-to-date dictionaries) is a country in northern South America. It was formerly known as Nederlands Guyana, Netherlands Guiana or Dutch Guiana. The country is the smallest sovereign state in terms of area and population in South America.

Suriname was colonized by Netherlands in the 17 century, gained self-government, with the Netherlands retaining control of defense and foreign affairs, in 1954 and was granted independency in 1975.