The Kingdom of Swaziland is a landlocked, one of the smallest country in Africa, embedded between South Africa and Mozambique. The country is named after the Swazi, a Bantu-speaking people.

Artifacts indicating human activity dating back to the early Stone Age 200,000 years ago have been found in the kingdom of Swaziland. Prehistoric rock art paintings date from ca. 25,000 B.C. and continue up to the 19th century.

Swaziland was an independent state in 19th century. From 1894 to 1906, the South African Republic in the Transvaal claimed sovereignty over Swaziland but never fully established power. In 1906, Swaziland was transferred to the British High Commissioner for South Africa. In 1934 Swaziland and Bechuanaland Protectorate came under the administration of the British High Commissioner for Basutoland. The country was granted independence within the Commonwealth of Nations on September 6, 1968.